European Climate Platform

The European Climate Platform (ECP) is a joint initiative established in 2005 by Mistra's Climate Policy Research Programme CLIPORE External link, opens in new window. and CEPS. The initiative continued with the Mistra Indigo program and CEPS.

ECP has set as its objective to facilitate policy/research interaction, mainly but not exclusively in Europe. Its working method consists of bringing together a select number of policy-makers, negotiators and experts to discuss key topics in the area of international climate change policy. An important element is to actively disseminate results.

The ECP actively support dialogue with policy makers and other stakeholders while being dedicated to academic excellence, unqualified independence and policy relevance. The ECP is governed by a steering group, drawn from government and academia.

Steering group members (in alphabetical order):


Frank Convery
Ireland Country Representative and former President of the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (EAERE); Heritage Trust Professor of Environmental Policy at University College Dublin (ECP co-chair)

Bo Kjellén
Former Chief Climate Negotiator for Sweden; Senior Research Fellow, Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI) and Visiting Fellow Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research (ECP co-chair)


Monica Alessi
Programme Manager, CEPS

Amanda Alsop
Acting Head of International Climate Change Negotiations for the UK

Michel Colombier
Scientific Director, Institut du Développement Durable et des Relations Internationales (IDDRI)

Christian Egenhofer
Senior Fellow, CEPS

Ana Fornells de Frutos
Coordinator of the Internacional Division Spanish Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Environment

Peringe Grennfelt
Programme Director, Mistra Indigo

Emi Hijino
Deputy Director at Swedish Ministry of Environment

Bert Metz
Former co-chairman of IPCC Working Group III; Fellow, European Climate Foundation, The Hague

Artur Runge-Metzger
Chief Climate Negotiator for the European Commission and Director, International and Climate Strategy, DG Climate Action, European Commission

Paul Watkinson
Head of French Climate Negotiations Team, Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development, Transport and Housing

Nicole Wilke
Chief Climate Negotiator for Germany and Head of Division, International Cooperation, Global Conventions and International Climate Change Protection, German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety

For further information:
Please contact monica.alessi@ceps.eu or go to the ECP web site External link, opens in new window.

Summary of the ECP 10th anniversary Pdf, 546.5 kB, opens in new window.
Updated: 2016-03-21

The website is administrated by IVL Swedish Environmental Research Insitute Ltd | © IVL